Holiday Inspiration: When the Bell Tolls

25 12 2010

I’m quite fat and happy, well, not fat at all according to the government and the mirror; but the expression fits. Christmas morning proceeded quite nicely; kids excitedly brandished new presents as if to threaten joy and excessive energy (which they did). Barb and I nursed our special holiday coffee – a Roast House Coffee Noir bean touched with O’Reillys’ White Chocolate or Torani’s Chai Tea Spice. It was our little treat for ourselves.

Two of my presents were books, Paul Kimmage’s Rough Ride and Tim Krabbe’s The Rider. I skimmed Kimmage’s excerpt, and noted:

…it wasn’t about how much training you put in or how much you wanted to win. It was about grueling defeats, complete and utter exhaustion – and it was about drugs. Not drugs that would ensure victory, but drugs that would allow you to finish the race and start another day.

I pulled the stick out of my emotional wheel. Crap, another doping article. Is true competition possible without drugs anymore? It made me question my goals and inspired this post. How far do I really want to go? My purpose for racing and training isn’t really about glory, fame, and winning; although those things are nice. It’s more about purpose – and that’s seeing how far I can push my engine and learning how much I can withstand; at what point would I quit myself? I hate quitting. I hate giving up. On the race course the adamant question bangs away inside my head, “Come on man, is this really all you’ve got?”

I want to be able to look back when I’m done a long time from now and know “Yeah, that was hard. I gave it everything that I had to give.” It would be an honorable effort, the bell of my conscience.

I hope when I finish both books I’ll find more inspiration from them. If I’m lucky, maybe I’ll even learn something and write about it here.

See you at the races.


Actions

Information

2 responses

8 01 2011
Felicita Boisclair

Good site! I reallydo love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which really should do the trick! Have a good day!

9 01 2011
Eric Abbott

Hello Felicita,
Thank you for reading my posts! Your RSS subscription should work fine. Additionally, you can click the “sign me up” button under “for email subscriptions”.

-Eric

Leave a Reply

